American Laser Society Names New President

Wed, 04/17/2013 - 12:07pm

The American Society for Laser Medicine & Surgery, Inc. (ASLMS) has named Jeffrey S. Dover, M.D., F.R.C.P.C. president. Dr. Dover took office at Laser 2013, the ASLMS annual scientific conference held in Boston, Massachusetts, and will serve for one year.

“It is an absolute honor to have the opportunity to lead the world’s leading laser specialists in furthering our understanding of how lasers and emerging energy based technologies may improve the practice of medicine across a gamut of specialties,” said Dr. Dover. “Laser, light, and energy based technology has and will continue to reshape how we diagnose, treat and prevent medical and aesthetic conditions thanks to a cooperative commitment to our specialties and patients.”

Dr. Dover is an associate clinical professor of dermatology, at Yale University School of Medicine, adjunct professor of medicine (dermatology) at Dartmouth Medical School and adjunct associate professor of dermatology at Brown Medical School. He is a director of SkinCare Physicians in Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts.

His research interests are lasers in medicine, cosmetic surgery and medical education. Dr. Dover is the author of over 350 scientific publications. He has co-authored and edited over 40 textbooks. His books have been translated into French, Italian, Spanish, Russian, Polish and Chinese. Titles include Illustrated Cutaneous Laser Surgery: A Practitioner’s Guide, Controversies and Conversations in Cutaneous Laser Surgery, Atlas of Cosmetic Surgery, and the series, Procedures in Cosmetic Dermatology.

Dr. Dover is the founding editor of Journal Watch for Dermatology, produced by the publishers of the New England Journal of Medicine. Dr. Dover is past president of both the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery and the New England Dermatological Society. He organizes and directs numerous medical conferences, including the annual Controversies in Cutaneous Laser and Cosmetic Surgery Symposium.

Dr. Dover has received many honors including repeated nominations for “teacher of the year” at Harvard Medical School. He received the Leon Goldman Memorial Award and the Ellet Drake Award from the ASLMS and he was honored for his work in laser surgery by the Sturge Weber Foundation at its 20th Annual Gala.


Share this Story

You may login with either your assigned username or your e-mail address.
The password field is case sensitive.